A Kurdish political prisoner who originally comes from Kobane (Rojava), Ramazan Ahmad, has written a letter signed by 22 other prisoners detailing human rights violation for which they hold responsible officials of the Islamic Republic of Iran.


My name is Ramazan Ahmad; I am originally from Kobane (Rojava, Syrian Kurdistan region).

I was arrested in 1999 near the town of Mako in Iranian territory.

I was shot 5 times in my leg, arm and abdominal areas and I was later charged with membership of the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK).

I have since been detained in the prisons of Mako, Ghazvin, Ûrmiye, Rajai Shahr and Evin.

I have suffered very much physical pain during my time in prison.

During the eight years of my imprisonment I underwent two surgeries for my arm injuries but both resulted in the arm being fully paralyzed.

Last year I went on hunger strike and was finally able to get a court permit for additional much needed operations on my arm at a private hospital, but was beaten unconscious by the guards upon arrival.

I spent six days in coma after being beat and the injuries on my head and nose are still visible.

They (the authorities) have denied everything and blame my conditions to drug poisoning.

I feel a moral obligation to voice my concerns for the international organizations about these inhumane conditions imposed on me and many other inmates, and hold the Islamic Republic of Iran responsible for crimes committed against detainees at the Rajaee Shahr prison.

The following are names of the prisoners in Gohardasht who signed the letter in support of Kamal’s claims.

  1. Saeed Masouri
    2. Saeed Shirzad
    3. Zanyar Moradi
    4. Loqman Moradi
    5. saleh Kohandel
    6. Latif Hassani
    7. Sahin ZoghiTabar
    8. Reza Akbari
    9. Khaled Hardani
    10. Karim Maerouf Aziz
    11. Pirouz Mansouri
    12. Batid Shah Mohammadof
    13. Omid Ghazian
    14. Farid Azmoudeh
    15. Hamzeh Sawari
    16. Behzad Tarahomi
    17. Vahid Asghari
    18. Payman Arefi
    19. Abolghasem Fouladwand
    20. Masoud Arab Choubdar
    21. Hoshang Rezayi
    22. Irej Hatami